Reviews for Welsummer

  • 5 Star: 20 (20)
  • 4 Star: 3 (3)
  • 3 Star: 0 (0)
  • 2 Star: 0 (0)
  • 1 Star: 0 (0)
Average Rating:

           (Based on 23 reviews)

Write Review
Next Pages: 1 2 3

           Great Birds and Very Hardy

- Lesley, 22 February 2014

I had a Welsummer in my first batch of hens which I bought back in 2009. She is a beautiful bird and lays dark brown eggs which are longish and slightly speckled. She definitely rules the roost and although she's getting old, I still get the odd egg from her. If you want your birds to lay every day then don't get Welsummers but if you are happy with two to three eggs per week in Summer then they are the perfect birds.


          

- LYnn, 18 August 2013

I brought a trio in June from a lady in Northamptonshire. The cockerel had no interest in the hens and did not treat them particularly well. The hens when they laid, averaged 1 every other day for 6 weeks and now have stopped laying They look nice but not worth the money in my opinion


           Great all around chicken

- Owen, 25 May 2013

I have one welsummer hen and she is the best chicken i have ever had. she lays usually 6 eggs a week and is the friendliest of friendly chickens. she follows everybody around the yard. When it comes to hardiness, all i can say is she survived a bad philadelphia winter without a nice cozy coop. (this was before i had her) I couldn't be happier with her and i would be delighted to have a flock of welsummers. also, if you have a rabbit problem, order a welsummer. my hen chases the rabbits of the property :)


           Great birds

- Hamish, 25 May 2013

Friendly, curious and nice to other birds


           Georgeous looking birds.

- Emma, 28 January 2013

I have had welsummers (both red duckwing, otherwise known as partridge and silver duckwing) for the past 2 years. I have also recently started breeding the former. In my experience, both male and female of this breed are among the most stunning for appearance and if you get a good strain, the egg colour is an amazing red/brown colour - quite unique! They lay extremely well from Jan to Sept with eggs being quite large. The cockerels seem to be more friendly than the hens and they don't particularly like cold/wet weather (mine stay in their coop if it's too cold outside!). I've heard they this breed can be flighty but I haven't had this issue unlike the cream legbars! Overall, if you can balance out the lack of autumn eggs with a good winter laying breed or a hybrid, than they are well worth having.


           Beautiful Birds

- Vicky, 29 November 2011

Welsummers were my 'starter' birds and I now have a flock of 8, 2 of which I hatched in an incubator. They eat absolutely anything (apart from meat of course) and run flat out down the garden whenever they hear the patio door open! Very funny birds to watch. The cockerel is magnificent in his stature and colour. They don;t like to be handled, but these are chickens - not pets, so you shouldn't really pick them up as it stresses them out. Egg production is hit and miss with my flock; average 4 a week per bird in summer and spring, sometimes nothing for weeks and weeks in winter :(


           Love them

- Becky, 22 November 2011

We have Welsummers, Buff Orpingtons, Bantam Bearded Silkies and Golden and Rusted Crested Marans. Our Welsummers are very intelligent, beautiful and their best friend is my Potbellied pig Tally. They eat right out of our hands and they are very cuddly. We have had them for a year now and they continue to amaze us with their learning processes. They are not aggressive towards even our smallest Bantams and are quite friendly with our goose and duck. They are free range as we live on 2 acres. They go into the coop at night and usually pile onto 1 nest together. They enjoy heights and we make sure to clip their wings twice a year, very easy to do takes less than a minute for each bird, at NO pain to them. We are dif. going to get more Welsummers as we have all hens and want to get more hens. Their favorite food is dried meal worms! If you get Welsummers you will love them. They look like little hawks when they raise their neck feathers and they constantly look like they are thinking.


           Smart looker

- Marian, 17 September 2011

A truly handsome chicken, beautiful dark brown eggs, but the couple I've got are not very friendly and panic if I try and pick them up. Worth keeping for appearance, and size and colour of eggs which average out at about 4 a week in full lay.


           Lovely bird but VERY loud voice!

- Susanne, 20 May 2011

We have one hen who is at the bottom of the pecking order of our little flock of 4, so she is very flighty and skittish, can't get anywhere near her and even at night she'll scream blue murder if someone tries to sneak a quick cuddle! She screeches for about 30-40 minutes every morning to tell everyone where she lives and then is quiet for the rest of the day unless something spooks her. She lays huge eggs for her size and because of this they often take 2 days to "put together". She gets very stressed if she cannot have the coop to herself while laying and will run in and out for as long as the other bird is sitting in the nest box! She is a beautiful and elegant bird who can outrun all the others easily and seems to actually enjoy running as she frequently does it without any provocation. Apart from the hideous, loud voice the only drawback of this little bird is that she eats all the flowers!!


          

- Jayme, 16 May 2011

I really like the Welsummers my wife and I have! They are beautiful and productive, lay large and larger eggs. Our ROOSTER was absolutely beautiful but became aggressive. The hens, however, are very sweet, one even sings while on the nest to lay an egg! I would get this breed again.

Next Pages: 1 2 3
Omlet Cartoon