Verified Reviews for Bumpa Bit - 25mm - Single

Average Rating:
Based on 35 Verified Reviews
Write Review
Filter By:

Does the job -

Avian flu lockdown has meant additional confinement for my rescue hens...and a chance for bossy Spiky to victimise her sisters. Spraying their bottoms with gentian violet had some benefits but these clips are better. Thanks to helpful tips on here (wrap her in a towel, warm the clips in hot water, check the grip goes in the nostril...), I've fitted it successfully and bottoms are spared! A cheap, easy solution...and feathers are growing back on bare bottoms! Win-win!

Verified Purchase: Dec 2020


Bought these as extras with the bumpa bit kit - Aberdeenshire,

They worked really well for me to ween one of my hens out of her feather eating obsession. She is now bit free and back with the flock with no more signs of feather eating. Great tool when used correctly.

Verified Purchase: Oct 2020


Bumpabit -

Worked well

Verified Purchase: Oct 2020


Solved a big problem -

We had a very aggressive chicken who was pecking her flock mates vents and making them bleed - we were having to segregate them every day and I was desperate for a solution. These worked brilliantly- I took the advice to buy about 10 even though I only needed one as several broke on trying to attach but once we had one successfully in place the problem was eliminated. The aggressive behaviour continued for a short while but as she was no longer achieving her goal she seemed to forget about it and learned to live harmoniously alongside the other chickens. 6 weeks on we have removed the bit and there is no problem. Stopped us having to get rid of a problem hen - thank you

Verified Purchase: Nov 2020


Bumpa Bit -

They appear to have been effective with less feather plucking. At the moment I can't guarantee the habit has been completely broken.

Verified Purchase: Nov 2018


-

The first bit broke before we got it on. The second bit we got on our hen but she promptly pulled it off. So back to peepers. We’ll try the bits on younger birds.

Verified Purchase: Oct 2018


Good product but beware! -

You need to buy 10 at least and have the right pliers otherwise you wont be able to fit them Only possible to have fitted with 2 people Once you fit it remember the middle of the beak has to have the middle of the bumpa bit in it. Google images helped me! Our hen had bad habit of eating feathers peking in order ti do so and after a month we took it off and she seems fine.

Verified Purchase: Apr 2017


Not good -

I have bought bits from Omlet before and they were fab, however, every bit from the latest batch snapped when putting them on my hens. Hardly any pressure applied and they snapped straight away. Maybe it was a faulty batch. Got in touch with Omlet and they refunded me straight way and said they will investigate which is good service.

Verified Purchase: Dec 2016

Omlet Says: Thank you for your review and for pointing out that there was a problem. Indeed it was a faulty batch and it has been duly reported to our supplier. The problem is now fixed: the new stock has been quality checked. Thanks again for your feedback, The Omlet team.


A necessary evil. - Pembrokeshire,

Absolute last resort to sort out a feather pecking problem. We had our own pliers, and I can't imagine how I'd have have got it on without. As it was the first attempt broke the clip. So buy more than you think you need. The clip is very hard and brittle plastic. Necessarily so or the chicken would be able to get it off in no time. Warm the clip first in a cup of hot water and the job is a lot easier. It's a tricky job that needs two people, but not as bad as I feared.

Verified Purchase: May 2020


Bumpa Bit Works! -

Bumpa bit has worked well. We had a problem with a hen eating eggs. After fitting the Bumpa bit she has now got out of the habit which has saved her life basically as she was a real nuisance.

Verified Purchase: Aug 2016

1 of 4   Next