Verified Reviews for Eglu Spares & Accessories

5 Stars:
0
4 Stars:
0
2 Stars:
0
1 Star:
0
Average Rating:
Based on 40 Verified Reviews
Write Review
Filter By:

Not great for the price... - Charlie, WEST YORKSHIRE,

I am usually over the moon with Omlet products and have spent thousands so far on my chickens and rabbits with Omlet stuff... So I'm sad to say that I really wasn't satisfied with this particular product :( I could have made something very similar myself, for a lot cheaper, however the ease of Omlets stuff usually, led me to believe this would be a quick and easy thing to put up. In fairness, I didn't read too much into the set-up before purchase, but for the price I had presumed that things like the poles would come read-made - I broke my nails trying to press the metal buttons in putting the poles together. The fact that it comes folded also made putting it up, more challenging as the crease just made things a whole lot harder. My ground isn't flat either and I wasn't going in a full square/circle which meant that I could have done with extra poles than provided. I think if you're doing it on a flat ground in a full square like they have pictured it, then it would be fine, but disappointing if you have any other shape/land type. Also, when it was up it sagged in-between the posts but I believe this to be because of the irregular shape (not stated in the product description this would be an issue). Most importantly though, it didn't actually keep my chickens in, they flew over within 5 minutes! I won't be clipping their wings as there are things within the enclosure that require them to fly up to for enrichment (not near the fence so not the issue regarding escaping). I would have justified the cost if the poles came ready to use otherwise I think the price point is too high.

Verified Purchase: Jan 2021 This reviewer has 10+ pets

Omlet Says: Hi Charlie! Thank you for leaving us a review. I'm sorry to hear that you weren't entirely satisfied with your purchase. Unfortunately we can't guarantee that your chickens won't be able to fly over the fencing, especially without clipped wings as each individual chickens flight capabilities vary. In regards to fencing sagging, please do feel free to contact our customer service team and we would be happy to send out some extra guy ropes/poles if necessary.


Run Door self fit Kit - Elvin,

Good idea but would benefit from opening outwards. I made some modifications to achieve this.

Verified Purchase: Mar 2020


Good but could be better - Louise,

The top half of the run is absolutely fine but the holes in the mesh are too large which means the run is NOT rat proof (or small bird proof). These holes need to be smaller or the same size as the wire panels on the bottom half (I have had to add internal small sized wire which is expensive and defeats the objective).

Verified Purchase: Oct 2019


Run handles - Dana, West midlands,

I found my run so easy to move that I have never fitted these handles. However they look good and strong.

Verified Purchase: Dec 2020


Pegtastic - Jason,

Unique peg easily screws into hard ground with a comfortable T shape handle operation, perfect with the intentions of holding down guy ropes. Only 3 stars as the handle broke after a gust of wind pulled too harshly which was unfortunate.

Verified Purchase: May 2016


Inexpensive but not strong enough - Lougheed, Hertfordshire,

Considering the price these are good value, BUT they are not strong enough for use in any but the smoothest places. We have our chickens in a field and when these pegs hit a stone they bend.

Verified Purchase: Oct 2015


Does the Job - Elizabeth,

The instructions that came with the kit are for repairing holes in the larger mesh, so it was a bit tricky working out what to do in the smaller mesh, especially while lying on the ground nose to beaks with some very inquisitive hens. A satisfactory hen-proof repair was eventually effected, however, so the repair kit did its job.

Verified Purchase: Aug 2015


house and run - Ursula,

this item is fine for the purpose we bought it for a nightmare to put together we needed a child with a degree in lego and macarno but we got there in the end the birds like it and its easy to move and to clean.

Verified Purchase: May 2015


Does exactly what it says on the tin - Simon,

Does exactly what it says on the tin. Once assembled allow the Eglu to Go Up.

Verified Purchase: Sep 2020


Foot pedal change - Sue,

It seems the design of this has changed and there is no return on the foot pedal making it awkward to push down and, unless you have a hard soled pair of shoes on, is hard and sharp. Otherwise, the set, once you have engaged the pedals in the slots, makes life so much easier for wheeling the Go Up around

Verified Purchase: Jun 2018

1 of 4   Next