Limited availability due to high demand. Please see our Stock Availability page for more information.

Verified Reviews for Eglu Cube® - Large Chicken Coop

5 Stars:
0
4 Stars:
0
2 Stars:
0
1 Star:
0
Average Rating:
Based on 30 Verified Reviews
Write Review
Filter By:

Not Impressed - Louise,

All of the features sounded good on the website but it is actually awkward and not nearly as good as I expected. It was difficult to assemble and reaching the food and water containers is almost impossible. In retrospect, I think having a coop built would have been closer to what I had in mind.
Review for: Eglu Cube Large Chicken Coop with 9ft Run and Wheels Package - Leaf Green

Verified Purchase: May 2021 This reviewer has 2-4 bantam hens pets

Omlet Says: Hi Louise, Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. We are sorry to read your disappointment regarding some of the features of your coop. Your feedback has been passed on our product design team who will see what improvements could be done to facilitate the assembly of the coop. Regarding the feeder and drinker, they offer you the possibility to be moved easily, you might find it easier to reach them by placing them nearer to the exit for example. We stay at your disposal for any further information. Best Regards, Clemence Omlet Customer Service


£700 and it’s held together with zip ties. - Vicky,

We decided to spend more money on buying an Eglu, we have a classic that must be 15 (ish) years old and has lasted very well and is easy to put together. This wasn’t the case for the Cube! It took 2hours+ to make and the caging is held together with zip wires, something I wouldn’t have expected when you pay £700 for a product. I just hope it lasts as long as the classic one has.
Review for: Large Chicken Coop Eglu Cube Mk2 with 2m Run Package - Leaf Green

Verified Purchase: Jun 2021 This reviewer has 2-4 Marans and legbars pets

Omlet Says: Hi Vicky, Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. I'm impressed to read that you have an Eglu Classic that has been lasting for about 15 years. Since you acquired your first Eglu, our dedicated team has been working hard to improve the quality and sturdiness of our chicken coops, taking in account your feedback. I would like to reassure you about the durability of your Eglu Cube. The elements holding the structure together include a mixture of different type of screws, clips and cable ties. This ensures a balanced and strong construction throughout the whole structure. The cable ties are actually very sturdy and extremely hard to break. By following each step of your installation precisely, your coop should last you for years to come. If however, if you need anything or have any questions, feel free to contact us at anytime. Best Regards, Clemence Omlet Customer Service


Good for new keepers - Lisa, Kent,

We have had our four rescue chickens for a few months now and I have mixed feelings about the coop. It’s very easy to clean which is the big selling point, it only takes me about 5 minutes a day. Negative is that it doesn’t have room for perches, which are beneficial for chickens as they don’t sleep in their poop, and it means bullied chickens can escape from the rest. It was tricky to put together, I do feel that Omlet could have made it easier by attaching some bits for you! It’s very expensive and if I were doing it again, I would probably buy a cheaper one!
Review for: Eglu Cube Mk2 with Wheels and Accessories - Leaf Green

Verified Purchase: Jan 2021 This reviewer has 2-4 Warren browns pets

Omlet Says: Hi Lisa, Thank you very much for your message. Your feedback has been passed on to our product design team, they will have a look at further improvement possibilities. Regarding the presence of perches, the Eglu Cube already includes rounded roosting bars for your chickens at night. For the day time, you can always add one of our perches in the run. In order to assist you with the construction, we provide in addition of the instruction manual useful videos on our website, giving you step-by-step instructions. Don't hesitate to contact us as well, by phone or by email, if you need further assistance. We stay at your disposal for any further information. Best Regards, Clemence Omlet Customer Service


This coop and run would be perfect if the wire on the run and coop-opening levers were racoon-proof - Leslie, Illinois,

This is a great little run except for two features that might get your chickens killed: 1) The mesh is large enough that a raccoon can get their hands inside and grab a chicken. 2) the knobs to open the nesting box and main coop area can be manipulated by a racoon. The main issue is that this is a coop built in the UK (I think) which is a place that does not have racoons. I STRONGLY sugest that Eglu make a US model with a 1/2" mesh size and knobs that can be secured. I ended up covering the whole thing in machine cloth (1/2") and riveting hasps to both the main coop opening and the nesting box opening. If you are not willing to do these extra steps, than take a pass on this coop.
Review for: Eglu Cube Large Chicken Coop with 9ft Run and Wheels Package - Leaf Green

Verified Purchase: May 2021 This reviewer has 4-6 pets

Omlet Says: Hi Leslie, Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with the product overall, and we are very sorry to hear about your disappointment regarding the two points that you described. Our runs have been studied to protect your chickens from persistant predators. However, there is always room for improvement, your feedback is extremely important to us, and it will be transferred to our product design team for further improvements. If you need anything please do not hesitate to get in touch with us by phone or by email. Best Regards, Clemence, Omlet Customer Service


Not completely sold - Kristi,

Moving the coop has been troubling. The directions are different from the main catalog compared to the individual ones that come with each section. I have had to use extra zip ties in certain areas to keep the run closed and connected. I'm still waiting for my other orders that have been placed
Review for: Eglu Cube Large Chicken Coop with 9ft Run and Wheels Package - Leaf Green

Verified Purchase: Jun 2021 This reviewer has 2-4 Chicken pets

Omlet Says: Hi Kristi, Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review, it is very important to allow us to study possible improvements on our products. We are very sorry to read that you experienced difficulties in your installation. Usually, the clips provided should be able to create a sturdy and stable environment for your chickens. However, if you feel like there is not enough of them to suit your needs, you can always purchase the clips separately. You can see all the different clips available on our website, on the page "Eglu Spares and Accessories". I hope this will help and we stay at your disposal if you need any further information. Best Regards, Clemence Omlet Customer Service


moveable eagle - Bettina,

we bought the eglu on wheels about 4 weeks ago. Took all day to put together. Like the design but very disappointed that the handles are not included. Since we bought the moveable eglu and you can only do so with handles ( it is harder to move than suggested) they should be included. You are very much left with the feeling that this company is trying to make money out of every little bit and they are actually already very expensive. Even the screw down pegs are charged in addition. Either the skirt works or it needs the pegs in which case they should also be included. You are not left with a good feeling about this company although they have a good design.
Review for: Eglu Cube Mk2 with 3m Run and Wheels Package - Leaf Green

Verified Purchase: May 2021 This reviewer has 2-4 pets

Omlet Says: Hi Bettina, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review, it is very important to us in order to improve our products and services. I am very sorry to read that you are not left with a good feeling about us, and I hope that we could maybe change that. One of the specific things about us it that our coops and runs are designed to be very flexible, offering the possibility to adapt to any sort of ground and land conditions. We would indeed not include directly handles and screw pegs in initial packages, as it would increase the initial price of the coop, when some people might not need these options. For example, some people do not need to move their coop at all, which is why they have the option of purchasing their coop without wheels and handles. Others might have a very flat ground, so they might not need screw pegs. We realised that every person has different needs, which is why we offer a lot of separate options to increase the flexibility in setup choices. I hope this will help in restoring your trust in us and we stay at your disposal if you need any further information. Kind Regards, Clemence Omlet Customer Service Team


Eglu Cube and Run - Ranvir,

Eglu cube is great very easy to clean, but the run is very poor value for money found it flimsy for the price been charged for it .
Review for: Eglu Cube Mk2 with 3m Run and Wheels Package - Leaf Green

Verified Purchase: May 2021

Omlet Says: Hi Ranvir, Thank you very much for your review, it is very important to us to be able to improve our products. I am happy to read that you appreciate the convenience of the cleaning process. I am very sorry to hear that you found some difficulties with your set up. Regarding the run set up, we provide clips that help to hold the structure together firmly. If your ground is not too stable, you also have the option of adding screw pegs for extra security. I will inform our product design team of your review for potential enhancements. If you wish to buy extra clips, screw pegs or wish to have some suggestions to improve your installation, do not hesitate to get in contact with us. You can reach us by phone on 01 295 500 900. Our offices are open from Monday to Friday from 9:00 to 5:30. You can also write us an email if you prefer. Either way, we will be more than happy to assist you with any query. Best Regards, Clemence Omlet Customer Service Team


- Mary,

I loved the Omelt Eglu as soon as I saw it online and knew it would fit my needs (urban chickens). I wanted something easy to clean and move around. It took a bit to arrive, but I put it together all by myself and it took a few hours. It was an easy install compared to Ikea furniture! You just have to take your time and go step by step. I put my chickens in at 6 weeks old as per all chicken information (usually around 6-8 weeks). My chickens were fully feathered and the weather was warm enough. My main worry was their warmth. I did have a fox come and I looked out and thought the run was predator proof so I was not worried. I went out to find one of my chicks dead and it was in the run, fox never got in the run. Somehow it was able to take its head off through the run fencing. I was distraught. I decided to put hardware cloth around the bottom 2 feet of the run. All the way around. It took time and money, but it gave me peace of mind. No other issues since. I contacted Omlet about the issue and provided pictures of the incident as well as my added fencing. They offered some compensation and with my added details will look into improving the run. The company cares about their product design and their customers. I would just recommend using hardware cloth if you feel predators are common in your area.
Review for: Eglu Cube Large Chicken Coop with Wheels and Accessories - Leaf Green

Verified Purchase: Mar 2021


It has pros and cons - An Omleteer, Utah,

As far as plastic coops that are available right now, this is definitely the best option I could find. It's not perfect though so I am going to point out some pros and cons in case it helps others. Some of what I love about this coop and run are that it fits in a limited amount of space, the footprint being about 3'8" wide and 12'8" long. It is also easy to clean and my favorite feature is the slide out tray which makes it basically like cleaning a birdcage. I use zeolite granules in the tray and a cat pooper scooper to sift out the droppings. The run however is not easy to clean as it's too long to reach into, even with the extra door we added, so you have to sort of hunch down and waddle inside and crawl out. If you have it in a location where you can just move the whole thing that may help but mine is not in a spot where I can move it at all so I dread when I have to go inside. Unlike another coop and run I was considering that came with hardware cloth over all openings and the run, the Cube has large openings on the cage for the run, large enough for a raccoon to reach right through and kill chickens. This meant that we had to spend additional money and time to purchase and attach hardware cloth to the entire thing which because of us adding the extra door and the sloped angle of the run sides, meant a lot of cutting and piecing panels of wire together. The coop itself was also not at all predator proof out of the box and was very difficult to make predator proof. The handles on both the nest box door and the back of the whole coop have no lock or easy way to lock and both can easily be opened by a racoon or small child. The smaller version of the Eglu, the Go, has an additional piece you can buy to make the back opening lockable but when I asked about a similar product for the Cube they said it did not exist. Because the handles are recessed it took a lot of trial and error before I found a product that would cover the handles so that a small child or raccoon could not easily open the coop. Most of the wooden coops I considered either came with locks or were very easy to just clip a lock onto. The coop itself seems comfortable for my 2 orpingtons and they had no problem learning to use the ladder although I did add a stick on LED light to entice them into it on their own at night for the first week because otherwise I had to cram inside the run to try to waddle and catch them to put them in. They also learned to use the nest box but I do have to keep the door to it closed at night otherwise they try and sleep and poop in it, so each evening I have to remove the cover I added to the handle and open the coop to slide the door closed and do the same to open the nest door early every morning since the only way to open and close that door is to open the coop. The door to let the chickens out of the coop into the run has a handle on top which is nice because you can open or close it without opening anything up. The wooden coop I had considered had the roosting bar higher than the nest boxes which generally helps them stay on the roosts at night instead of the nest boxes but with the nest on the same level in the Cube I don't blame them for trying to sleep in the nest. The coop came with a waterer and drinker and I do like the waterer because I can hook it to the side and so it saves space in the run. I have not been able to use the feeder because my hens eat moistened food to reduce waste and so I use an open bowl for their food so I just set it in the coop and the included feeder is too hard to put the moistened food into or clean out. I use small cage cups hooked onto the sides for grit and oyster shell but because the sides of the run are quite sloped, even with the cover on the run the rain and snow gets into them so I have to change and refill them often. The sloped sides also mean that in winter, even with the run covers on, snow and rain get in the sides so shrink the available dry space in the run for the hens. Overall I have mixed feelings about the Cube now that I have owned it for awhile. I purchased and had to set it up in winter and so I wanted something easy to set up and go and easy to clean. If I had purchased one of the wooden coops I had considered I would have had to caulk the entire interior at all the joints and corners and paint the interior with exterior paint in order to get an easy to clean interior on par at all with the Cube, and that wasn't something I felt made sense to tackle in mid winter with snow on the ground. I really am not sure if I would purchase it again if I had to do it all over or not. There are both pros and cons and if I had had the time to caulk and paint the interior of a wooden version I considered, to make it close to as easy to clean as plastic, then I might have preferred that since it would have been easier getting in and out of the run to fetch eggs laid in the run instead of nest box and to clean the run and to make predator proof. I don't regret purchasing the Cube though because despite its faults it is easy to clean the coop part and scoop the litter, and overall it's a nice compact set up for the particular situation I had when I was creating a space for the new hens. I think if I did not live in a place with raccoons and I had it placed in an area where I could just move the whole thing daily and not have to access the interior of the run, then it would eliminate some of the problems I have with it.
Review for: Eglu Cube Large Chicken Coop with Wheels and Accessories - Leaf Green

Verified Purchase: Mar 2021 This reviewer has 2-4 Lavender Orpingtons pets


Build Instruction steps could be improved - An Omleteer,

Overall we are happy with coop and the 9ft run, however the product design could be improved to allow the run to be added / removed to/from the coop without virtually having the coop entirely unassembled again especially when you have the auto door. It would also help to include extra screws as found 2 of the long ones were dud and some extra zip ties would have been helpful. In terms of the instructions we found steps could have been clearer in areas especially with regard to adding the plate brackets for the run to be fixed and stressing vital to join run at this point before going further building the coop!
Review for: Eglu Cube Large Chicken Coop with 9ft Run Package - Leaf Green

Verified Purchase: Apr 2020

1 of 3   Next