Verified Reviews for Qute Hamster & Gerbil Cage

Average Rating:
Based on 379 Verified Reviews
Write Review
Filter By:

Highly recommended modern style Hamster cage - Miniz,

I bought this cage not long after buying my daughter a hamster, realising quite soon that it needed a cage that wasn't like the standard plastic/metal cages sold at Let shops, we needed something that had improved functionality and a modern style, the Qute Hamster & Gerbil cage with storage does just that. Things to note it's very easy to assemble, but if you have two people to help sturdy the initial joining together of the parts, the assembly so much of a smoother process with less issues arising, which I had, but eventually was able to get past those. The only issue is some of the parts material can get damaged if not assembled or joining the parts initially doesn't come together properly ... Get an extra pair of hands to help I would say. Otherwise this cage fits in really well in my daughter's room and the Hamster most importantly loves his new space and enjoying all aspects especially the wheel which he never used in the old cage but now enjoys for quite sometime.

Verified Purchase: Feb 2021 This reviewer has 1 Syrian Hamster pets


Great Looking Hamster Cage - Alison,

This cage looks great in your home and the storage compartment is really useful. I had to change the tube provided as we ended up buying robo hamsters and they couldn’t manage it so not really suitable for dwarf hamsters.

Verified Purchase: Feb 2021 This reviewer has 2-4 Robo Hamsters pets

Omlet Says: Hi Alison, unfortunately we don't usually recommend our cage as suitable for dwarf hamsters but It's great to hear that you've made it work by changing the tube over! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.


Quality Product - Alexis,

The product was shipped fast and the packaging kept the product from being damaged. Instructions were relatively easy to follow. The parts were very nice quality. It is a nice looking cage once assembled. The only issue that I had was that the hamster we selected really didn’t seem to be able to use the tube. This is a Teddy bear hamster and a larger rodent. The cage would probably work better for smaller rodents. Still a nice cage overall.

Verified Purchase: Feb 2021 This reviewer has 1 Hamster pets


Nice cage. - Jenn,

Overall we love this cage. Great concept. My daughter uses this as a nightstand next to her bed. Plenty big for her hamster. Easy to clean. The only problem we have with this cage is that it is not made for a dwarf hamster. The tube is too big and completely vertical. Our tiny dwarf cannot climb it. We had to purchase a tubing system that sloped and winded down so she could get up to top. The tubes that we had to buy don’t fit correctly at top either. Had to come up with a way to get them to stay. Wish this was recognized by company and additional tubing was available for purchase to accommodate dwarf hamsters. We made it work and really like this cage but wish this was stated that cage may not be good for dwarf hamster.

Verified Purchase: Feb 2021 This reviewer has 1 pets

Omlet Says: Hi Jenn, thanks so much for your review. We're really glad you and your daughter love the cage! I'm sorry to hear that your hamster has struggled slightly with the tube. We do actually have a paragraph on the product page for the Qute titled 'Safe and secure' stating that the cage is suitable for gerbils and Syrian hamsters but may not be suitable for dwarf hamsters. Fortunately it sounds as though you've managed to make it work for you and that's great!


Fabulous Hamster Condo - Victoria, New York,

I haven’t had a hamster since I was a kid so it was nice to find a cage that has evolved from the crazy color tube maze type table top cages. The modern sleek design blends in nicely with our decor. The two compact floors seem appropriate for our Chinese Dwarf but I think larger hamsters require more floor space. I like seeing how other Omlet cage owners modify theirs to accommodate their hamster needs. I added a battery operated lamp so that I and my hamster can see inside at night while she’s awake. Sushi wouldn’t use the tube to get up and down so only spent the night on the wheel (which is completely silent) for the first 2 weeks. I think the design of the tube is made for larger hamsters because the ladder rings inside of the tube are spaced too far apart for her to reach. I created a fleece lining for the tube and that night she went right to the bottom level. The cage is super easy and fast to clean. The only cons are the door handle to open the top area is a tiny bit flimsy and doesn’t easily open and close as smoothly as the handle for the bottom bin. (It’s obviously made for little fingers lol) It would be nice if the top of the cabinet opened for more easier access for cleaning. Overall it is a great value because this cage is so well made that it will be a home to many dwarfs for many years.

Verified Purchase: Feb 2021 This reviewer has 1 Chinese Dwarf pets


Sleek design - Emma,

I bought the cage a month ago. It’s really easy to use. The has been a problem with the wheel being noisy but customer services were excellent and replaced it immediately without quibbling. My only criticism is that I think it is a little small for gerbils.

Verified Purchase: Mar 2021 This reviewer has 2-4 Gerbils pets

Omlet Says: Hi Emma, thanks for you review. It's great to hear you're happy with your purchase! I'm glad our customer service team were able to resolve any issues you were having so quickly. We only suggest keeping one hamster or two gerbils in this cage. Any more than that and you would definitely need something larger!


Good quality and looks nice vs. others - James,

We bought this for our daughter's hamster and love it! The build quality is good and the convenience of having storage, a bedding tray and a top floor with movable tube is great. Gives her hamster plenty of room to play! Only two negatives: 1) water bottle started leaking within the first 2 weeks and 2) the top floor has a gap between the floor and the white walls which allows hamster urine to drip down the walls requiring frequent cleaning.

Verified Purchase: Jan 2021 This reviewer has 1 Syrian pets

Omlet Says: Hi James. Thanks for your review! We're so glad to hear how happy you are with your purchase. I am however sorry to read that you are experiencing some issues with it. Please keep an eye on your emails as one of our customer service advisors will be in touch with you arrange a replacement for the water bottle and get some more information on the problems you are having with the top floor.


Stylish and Sturdy Gerbi Habitat - Michele,

I bought this about a month ago and am very pleased with the product. Our gerbil absolutely loves it! She had some difficulty using the tube to climb up as she wasn't used to the larger tube's size. Her older tube was much narrower. We had to take her old tube and put it inside the new Omlet tube in order for her to feel comfortable going up and down. I love the design of the habitat and it was fairly easy to put together. There were a few spots where the chipboard fell apart putting the screws in but it didn't weaken the stability at all. One design flaw is that the top tray can only come out, (for cleaning purposes) if you want to remove everything on the top level including the tube, the wheel, the water dispenser. We clean our gerbil's habitat weekly so it was a minor pain but not enough to deter me from buying again.

Verified Purchase: Feb 2021 This reviewer has 1 Gerbil pets

Omlet Says: Hi Michele, thanks so much for taking the time to review your purchase from us. We do occasionally hear that the tube can be difficult for hamsters/gerbils initially. There are a few tricks that can help them get the hang of it but I'm really glad to hear you've found a substitute that works well for you. In your regards to the slight design flaw you have noted, I will pass this onto our product design team for future reference. Customer feedback is really important to our company as we are always looking for ways we can improve!


Not quite 5 stars - Carole,

Lovely piece of furniture,I wish we could shorten tube about inch as I like a lot of bedding in bottom and bit bigger. As one of previous reviews can't put too many toys in. Husband found it easy to put together

Verified Purchase: Feb 2021 This reviewer has 1 Syrian hamster pets


Looks great, could be a bit bigger. - Keely,

I was worried this might be a bit too small but there is plenty of room over two levels for a dwarf hamster. Would be even better if it was a bit bigger. Very happy daughter waiting for her hamster to arrive now.

Verified Purchase: Feb 2021 This reviewer has 1 Dwarf pets

Omlet Says: Hi Keely, thanks so much for your review. I'll be sure to pass your feedback onto our team! We hope your daughter and her hamsters both enjoy!!

1 of 7   Next