Limited availability due to high demand. Please see our Stock Availability page for more information.

Verified Reviews for Eglu Classic Chicken Coop

5 Stars:
0
3 Stars:
0
2 Stars:
0
1 Star:
0
Average Rating:
Based on 74 Verified Reviews
Write Review
Filter By:

Mostly excellent Classic mark 2 - Debbie, Somerset,

16th year and the base metal lock bar is only just corroding. Never had any pests with plastic roost bars. NOT rat proof!! OMLET Please attach a metal grid over the base like you did with Mark 1 Please consider a low base trolley so its easier to move around.
Review for: Eglu Classic Chicken Coop with 2m Run Package - Purple

Verified Purchase: Mar 2012 This reviewer has 2-4 mixed medium pets


Mostly excellent - Debbie,

Could Omlet consider a movable run option for the Classic please Ive gone back to my Mark1 as the Mark2 has rat damage to the base up into the nest box....happened many winters ago. The Mark 1 has a metal mesh beneath which is brilliant. Also they are both over 15 years old and the sliding bars that secure the hoods are rotting, can I get replacements?
Review for: Eglu Classic Chicken Coop with 2m Run Package - Purple

Verified Purchase: Jan 2021 This reviewer has 2-4 mixed medium pets

Omlet Says: Hi Debbie, Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. I will pass your suggestions to our product design team, who will be able to study possible improvements on that side. I just sent you an email to give you some more information regarding the replacement of your lid locking bars, I hope that you received it. We stay at your disposal for any further information. Best Regards, Clemence Omlet Customer Service


Eglu - James,

Pretty good product,could use some options for fixing down,not sure how weather proof it will be,will just have to wait for some bad weather to see
Review for: Eglu Classic Chicken Coop with Accessories - Purple

Verified Purchase: Apr 2019


Door problem R - Iain,

My Eglu Classic and run was easy to assemble, the whole job took about 30 minutes. Living in the Scottish Highlands our main concern is the threat from fox, pine marten, mink, and buzzards, but I am satisfied that the run and coop will be a satisfactory barrier to these predators. The only downside and the reason I give only 4 stars was is that the door does not close snug, there is a 2 to 3cm gap which in a Highland winter will allow wind, rain and snow in. Omlet are sending me a bracket with instructions which should solve the problem and if so I will give 5 stars. Otherwise 3 Blackrock hens happy and laying well.
Review for: Eglu Classic Chicken Coop with 2m Run Package - Green

Verified Purchase: Jul 2017


Excellent hen house - Cheryl,

I love my Eglu and my girls are happy and comfortable. Extremely easy to clean and no problems with mites in the 3 years I have had my girls (so far)! The only flaw for me is that the extended run I have is very difficult for me to clean out. I have a small inner city garden and no room to move my coop elsewhere. My girls demolished the grass in the run in a matter of months so I now use wood chips which they love to rummage through. However, I like to replace the chips every 4 months and it is impossible for me to get at the part of the run that is at the coop end. The run would benefit from an extra door at the coop end for easy cleaning access.
Review for: Eglu Classic Chicken Coop with 2m Run Package - Green

Verified Purchase: Aug 2019


Pleased overall - Sang, Cambridgeshire,

I am pleased with the product overall but there are minor problems with it. The locking bar doesn't go all the way through to the other side where the lynch pin should go. The feeders keeping falling off as the chickens feed.
Review for: Eglu Classic Chicken Coop with 2m Run Package - Green

Verified Purchase: Mar 2015


Easy care starter home - Kathryn,

I have 2 ladies in residence, it's super easy to maintain, I line the dropping tray with paper to make it easier to keep clean and give the house a thorough wash with a hose from time to time. I agree with some other comments that it's difficult to move, it would really benefit from little hand holds to make it possible to grip it, fortunately my husband has long arms so he can reach around but otherwise moving it would be quite a problem. In general though, both the ladies and I are happy, it really is a great design.
Review for: Eglu Classic Chicken Coop with 2m Run Package - Green

Verified Purchase: Mar 2017


Secure hen house - Frances,

Little disappointed with certain aspects of the hen house and run. Although the house is well built and secure the fit was not perfect and the ventilation holes need some means of closing in the cold winter winds. The handle to the side hatch is very stiff but hopefully will ease with time. It would be helpful to have handles on the house to make it easier to,pick up and move. The rin was a little flimsier than expected and the clips not very sturdy. As this was a expensive purchase would have expected these things to have researched and ironed out.
Review for: Eglu Classic Chicken Coop with 2m Run Package - Green

Verified Purchase: Jul 2020


good - John,

The Structure is quite heavy to pull round the lawn when you need to find fresh grass. The Chickens were used to a wooden coop- we changed because of red mite problems. The issue is that the hens are quite old- 41/2 and have never perched and were not going to start. After a couple of nights when they both tried to squeeze into the nesting area, (they are large hens) we have made a carboard tray to run along the rear perch. They are now much happier. Is this something you could market as a plastic tray?
Review for: Eglu Classic Chicken Coop with 2m Run Package - Green

Verified Purchase: Dec 2016


Variable product - Caroline,

I have had 4 Eglu classics. Its an excellent product, but quite variable. Latest has a very stiff door handle. But a good one is the Rolls Royce of henhouses and is much more durable than the Go.
Review for: Eglu Classic Chicken Coop with 2m Run Package - Green

Verified Purchase: Aug 2016

1 of 8   Next