Verified Reviews for New Omlet Chicken Fencing

Average Rating:
Based on 196 Verified Reviews
Write Review
Filter By:

Ok - Cath,

I was really happy with the prompt arrival and how quick and easy it was to put together and build the fence. However, one of the clips just doesn't fit properly and affects the gate closing mechanism.

Verified Purchase: Feb 2021 This reviewer has 6-8 pets

Omlet Says: Thank you for your review! I'm sorry to hear that. Please feel free to contact our customer service team and explain this as we would be more than happy to send some replacement clips for you.


Not great for the price... - Charlie, WEST YORKSHIRE,

I am usually over the moon with Omlet products and have spent thousands so far on my chickens and rabbits with Omlet stuff... So I'm sad to say that I really wasn't satisfied with this particular product :( I could have made something very similar myself, for a lot cheaper, however the ease of Omlets stuff usually, led me to believe this would be a quick and easy thing to put up. In fairness, I didn't read too much into the set-up before purchase, but for the price I had presumed that things like the poles would come read-made - I broke my nails trying to press the metal buttons in putting the poles together. The fact that it comes folded also made putting it up, more challenging as the crease just made things a whole lot harder. My ground isn't flat either and I wasn't going in a full square/circle which meant that I could have done with extra poles than provided. I think if you're doing it on a flat ground in a full square like they have pictured it, then it would be fine, but disappointing if you have any other shape/land type. Also, when it was up it sagged in-between the posts but I believe this to be because of the irregular shape (not stated in the product description this would be an issue). Most importantly though, it didn't actually keep my chickens in, they flew over within 5 minutes! I won't be clipping their wings as there are things within the enclosure that require them to fly up to for enrichment (not near the fence so not the issue regarding escaping). I would have justified the cost if the poles came ready to use otherwise I think the price point is too high.

Verified Purchase: Jan 2021 This reviewer has 10+ pets

Omlet Says: Hi Charlie! Thank you for leaving us a review. I'm sorry to hear that you weren't entirely satisfied with your purchase. Unfortunately we can't guarantee that your chickens won't be able to fly over the fencing, especially without clipped wings as each individual chickens flight capabilities vary. In regards to fencing sagging, please do feel free to contact our customer service team and we would be happy to send out some extra guy ropes/poles if necessary.


Guide Rope design - Peter,

Very well made BUT in a relatively small garden, like ours, the guideropes inhibit movement and I have tripped over them more than once - especially at night.

Verified Purchase: Jul 2020


Keep chickens off my garden - Caroline,

I would have liked to give this product 5* but unfortunately there are some let downs. This is the 2nd one I've bought and both have 1 same problem. The Guy ropes don't stay in place. This 1 is made of plastic but the clips to keep the netting on at the door keep coming off. I've used this 1 to extend my 1st run and it does that OK. I did think I could have bought an extension kit but could not find one.

Verified Purchase: May 2020


Still a good product but new plastic fencing isn’t as attractive - Alex,

I loved the previous version of the omlet fence so much that I tried to buy it again. They changed the product a lot but the biggest change is that the fencing is now a flat plastic grid material vs the cloth-like rope of the earlier version. The change wasn’t clear when I bought the product and I was disappointed when it came. It’s still a good product that does its job but is just less attractive.

Verified Purchase: Dec 2018


Gate grate but poles not so good - Jenny,

The gate for this is really easy to use my children have no problem opening and closing it. However all the metal bits on the poles have rusted which makes adjusting the pole height difficult as some won’t pop in and others refuse to pop back out again rendering them useless. Such a shame as with better quality metal this would be a fantastic product.

Verified Purchase: Sep 2020


OK but........ - Geri, West Midlands,

this product is ok but not quite as robust as I expected for the cost; one of the plastic tops on a pole is broken and the netting sags in places meaning we have to do a bit of manipulation to get it tight. A great idea but I would have liked it just a little taller and no broken parts.
Review for: Omlet Chicken Fencing Mk1 - 12 metres - Inc. Gate and Double Spike Poles and Guy Lines

Verified Purchase: Nov 2013